Baked Spinach, Tomato and Chevre Frittata


I bake my frittatas for the whole process, mainly because I don’t have a heavy skillet to go from stove top to oven!  They seem to come out very well anyway. As this is great cold too, this is a great recipe for having leftovers for lunch

1 Medium Onion, chopped

2 Cloves Garlic, minced

3-4 Medium Tomatoes, Chopped

1 Bunch Spinach, thoroughly washed and chopped

100g Chevre Goats Cheese, cut into small cubes

5 Eggs

1 teaspoon Dried Basil or 1 Tablespoon Fresh Basil

1 Teaspoon Dried Oregano or 1 Tablespoon Fresh Oregano

Pinch Sea Salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly brush a baking dish with olive oil

Whisk the eggs with the herbs and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

In a little water, saute the onions on medium-high heat until almost translucent.  Add the garlic and saute for one more minute.  Add the tomatoes and saute for 3-4 minutes.  Add the spinach, put a lid on the pot and cook for about 3 minutes until the spinach has wilted, stirring occasionally.

Pour the egg mixture into the baking dish.  Add the spinach and tomato mixture and stir. Dot the chevre throughout the mixture, pushing down so it is mainly covered in the egg mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  I have a strange oven. I think the thermostat is not working properly and the landlord’s service man insists it is working properly. I’m thinking if I’m going to get more into this blogging thing I at least need an oven that works properly! Anyway I need to turn the broil setting on and move the dish down to a lower rack in the oven to cook the top more, and then broil on a higher rack  for a few minutes to brown the top.  You may not need to do that, or possibly just broil for a few minutes to brown the top.

Serve with a crisp green salad.

2 thoughts on “Baked Spinach, Tomato and Chevre Frittata

  1. This looks absolutely, positively delicious. I wish SO much that my eldest would eat frittata, quiche, and omelets. I think I’m going to just start making them again anyway, with plenty of sides, and hope that she warms up to the idea.

    I pinned this to my recipe board and hope to make it next week :).

    • Cool! Yes I read somewhere that it can take a child trying something up to 20 times before becoming accustomed to it. That’s a lot of trying. I’ve been following a guide of just keep on presenting something and letting Elise know that that’s all there is on offer. I think we’re getting there slowly. I hope my oven directions work out. As I said my oven is a bit dodgy so it’s hard to figure out. Better get it sorted if I’m going to be making recommendations! Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

