Recent Supermeals


These were from a while back but I enjoyed them so much I just had to post them.

First up – Butternut Cookies (Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health – The Moosewood Collective) with butternut squash, pecans, pumpkin seeds, raisins and semi-sweet chocolate chips.  I substituted whole wheat flour for a gluten free blend and the chocolate chips for carob.  Should have gone for chocolate chips.  They’re so healthy anyway (as far as cookies go!) that a little chocolate would not have hurt and the carob did not cut it!  Otherwise very tasty.

Second – Vegetable fritters (Gluten Free Vegan by Susan O`Brien) with chickpea flour, sweet potato or yam, cumin, cayenne, turmeric, onion, garlic and seasonings.  I baked them instead of frying them and teamed them with a super green salad. Elise loved them – particularly cutting them into shapes with her cookie cutter before eating them!

Third – Winter Squash Stuffed with Two-Rice Pilaf (Moosewood as above) with brown rice, thai black rice, garlic, celery, red bell pepppers, thyme and seasonings.  This was so delicious!  I used two beautiful delicata squash (light yellow with green stripes) that came in our vege delivery. The squash had such a deep but sweet flavour.  I used just brown rice (I wasn’t able to find thai black rice).  I did use some sharp cheddar on the top but it was so lovely without, it really did not need it.  Elise and Steve loved it too!

Fourth – Caramelized Onion Omelet (Moosewood again – can you tell I love this book?!) with onions, fresh basil, nutmeg eggs, cheese, eggs and seasoning.  I didn’t use cheese in it and I oven baked it instead.  It was so sweet and salty at the same time.  Elise who normally protests at the inclusion of onions gobbled it down.  The basil provided a wonderful balance to the flavour. I was glad I had doubled the recipe so we had it for lunch the next day as well. Again, coupled with a super green salad.

Fifth – Black Beans (Gluten Free Vegan) with onion, carrot, red bell pepper, jalapeno, garlic, black beans, canned diced tomatoes, chili powder, cayenne, cilantro and seasonings.  I used chipotle chili powder instead of jalapeno and chili, fresh tomatoes and tomato paste and no cilantro (Steve has an aversion to it – apparently that is genetic – true!).  I topped it with salsa and guacamole.  Oh my goodness – this was unbelievable! For dinner we had it on black rice noodles (King Soba) but for lunch I had just the beans.  With all the carrots and peppers it was a meal in itself!  Even though I had reduced the amounts from the recipe, I was still a little heavy on the chili and cayenne for Elise’s tastebuds so this wasn’t Elise’s favourite this time.  My usual recipe (in an earlier post) is a little more child friendly.

Leave a Reply

