Banana, Chocolate and Walnut Muffins


I made these more for my daughter than me but I did indulge!

I used Sandra Cabot’s “Banana and Walnut Muffins à la Madeleine” recipe from “The Liver Cleansing Diet”.

My adaptations were:

1/6 cup of honey instead of 2/3 cup honey (which seemed to me to be way too much, particularly with very ripe sweet bananas)

Flax eggs instead of eggs (see my post on Corn Fritters)

Buckwheat flour instead of wholewheat flour

Adding 2TBsp cocoa

They turned out well.  They were not very sweet with me having cut the honey amount down but I am trying to re-train my palate to prefer less sweetness.  And even though honey is not “sugar” – it is still a simple carbohydrate. I tried it with a jam made from fruit and fruit juice.  Again I plan to use this sparingly bearing in mind the simple carbs in it.

Leave a Reply

